CHL Course

If you are ready to exercise your right to obtain a Texas Concealed Handgun License, we are ready to hear from you. We intentionally keep CHL classes small (6-8 people) so we can offer sincere personal attention to our students, but are always willing to consider other arrangements or group classes. Please contact us to discuss your preferences.

1 person: $100.00
2 people: $90 each  

U.S. Military Veterans: $75
Seniors (65+): $75
6+ people (Group Classes): $75 –
contact us to schedule your class
Active Military & Current Texas Teachers: $0
contact us to schedule your class
CHL Renewal: $70.00. Online only at the Texas CHL Renewal Site. No class time or range time is required by current Texas State Law

Saturdays, 8:00 am – 2:00 pm
All prices include Range Fee.
Ammuntion Required: 50 rounds of your own, or purchase from us.

The first four hours are taught in the FTA Classroom and will cover:

  • Concealed carry law
  • Where you can and cannot carry
  • When you can use force or deadly force
  • Legal implications of use of force or deadly force
  • Texas weapons laws
  • Nonviolent dispute resolution
  • Firearms safety
  • Written Exam

The next two hours of the class will be held at the Highway 31 Range for shooting Qualifications. Qualification requires that you fire fifty rounds to the target’s center mass from a handgun of .32 caliber or greater: 20 shots at three yards, 20 shots at seven yards, and 10 shots at fifteen yards. Texas state law requires 70% proficiency as passing. Whether you are proficient at shooting, or have never handled a firearm at all, the instructor will guide and assist you along the way.

At FTA, we maintain that a CHL bears with it a great responsibility. Whatever your skill level may be, we will provide the training and knowledge you need to protect what is yours. Register with us today.




FTA’s CHL Classroom

The Firearms Training Academy
(903) 530-6260
New LTC Class Dates
LTC classes will be held on the second and fourth Saturday and Monday of each month.